Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!
Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!

Janet Jackson: The Diva Series Volume 2 – The Millennium Remixes and Club Chart Triumphs

Janet Jackson’s evolution as a musical icon didn’t halt as the 90s came to a close; it merely shifted gears. Embracing the pulsating energies of the new millennium’s club scene, Janet successfully transitioned her sound to resonate with the latest dance music trends. It’s a journey amplified by collaborations with renowned DJs like Tony Moran, Thunderpuss, Peter Rauhofer, and Junior Vasquez. These partnerships ensured that Janet’s footprint on the dance floor remained indelible.

In 1997, “The Velvet Rope” acted as a turning point, capturing the essence of what was hot in clubs. It was a transformation, not a departure—something that becomes more evident when you hear tracks like “Together Again,” masterfully reimagined by Tony Moran. His remix gave the song a new, energetic dimension that kept dance floors packed.

By the time “Damita Jo” was released, Janet had fully embraced the burgeoning electro and progressive genres, a trend she further amplified in “Discipline.” Though the album topped the Billboard charts, it didn’t churn out any hit singles, leaving many to wonder if her career had hit a plateau. Critics argued, but the club scene told a different story. Her streak of No. 1s on club charts endured, proving that Janet was as relevant as ever in spaces that mattered to her most ardent fans.

It’s tempting to blame her momentary commercial slip on the infamous Super Bowl incident, but it’s also possible that Janet was just too far ahead of the mainstream curve. Regardless, she continued to hold her own as a powerhouse on the club circuit. Songs like “Rock With U,” remixed by Soundpusher, and “All Nite (Don’t Stop)” with the Low End Specialists Main Mix, continued to be dance-floor staples.

While the rumor mill buzzed with speculations of her collaboration with long-time associate Jimmy Jam and a delayed new album, it was clear that Janet, or Miss Jackson if you’re nasty, was far from finished. With a greatest hits package released and a life full of musical options ahead of her, it was evident that Janet would continue to rule the dance scene in whatever form she chose.

What comes next in her career may be shrouded in mystery, but one thing is clear: Janet Jackson’s story in dance music is far from over. And we can’t wait to see what she pulls off next.

Until the next time…ENJOY!

Album : Janet Jackson Volume 2
Genre : Club, House
Year : 2009
Total Time : 1:31:26.00

1. Together Again (Tony Moran 12” Club Mix Edit)

2. Call On Me (Tony Moran’s ‘Autumn Leaves’ Club Mix)

3. The Pleasure Principle (Danny Tengalia’s Twilo Dub)

4. Make Me (Dave Aude Club Mix)

5. Rock With U (Soundpusher Remix)

6. All Nite (Don’t Stop) (Low End Specialists Main Mix)

7. Just A Little While (Peter Rauhofer Club Mix)

8. Son Of A Gun (Al B. Rich Son Of A Club Remix)

9. Throb (David Morales Legendary Club Mix)

10. Feedback (Jody Den Broeder Club)

11. All For You (Thunderpuss Change It Up Mix)

12. So Excited (Junior Vasquez Club Mix)

13. Come On Get Up (Milk & Sugar Retro Mix)

14. Twenty Foreplay (Junior Vasquez Jungle Club Mix)

15. Someone To Call My Lover (HQ2 Club Mix)

(Visited 1 times, 15 visits today)

Thanks for joining our party at Party Favorz! Your support helps keep the party alive. Want to chip in?