Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 14 years!
Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 14 years!

Janet Jackson v1 | The Diva Series

The Diva Series Janet v

Janet was signed to a five record deal with A&M Records in the early 80’s.  After the first two albums failed at radio and in the clubs, A&M was none too thrilled with their decision and even less excited about Janet going back into the studio for her third album in 1985.  Seeking to take control away from her domineering parents (both personally and professionally), Janet hooked up with music producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis of “The Time” fame.  The end result was a more mature sound with a harder, funkier edge than anything she had ever done.  That album was the mega-selling “Control.”  With no less than six top ten singles spawned from the album, “Control” set the stage for a new Jackson family superstar.

By the time she released “Rhythm Nation” in late 1989, Janet sealed the deal and all bets were off; she had now entered into the stratosphere of worldwide mega-entertainers.  Spawning seven top ten singles, “Rhythm Nation” was a mixture of hard-hitting dance songs with a serious undertone and fun carefree songs that mixed well with Janet’s shy and easygoing personality.  By the time she performed “Black Cat” at the MTV Music Awards, we began to witness a slimmer and more confident Janet.  Once “Love Will Never Do Without You” was released, Janet’s image had morphed from a tough little girl to a full-out sexy beautiful woman.  With the transformation completed, she released a greatest hits album and signed a new multi-million dollar record deal with Virgin Records.  With a purported $80 million dollar contract in her mid-twenties, Janet was the highest-paid artist in the industry, until Mariah Carey left Sony several years later.

From there, Janet went on to have great success with her releases.  That is until the incident involving a “wardrobe malfunction” at Super Bowl XXXVIII in early February of 2004.  While I’m not going to rehash the incident with her and Justin Timberlake here, the publicity stunt caused her record sales to plummet and a backlash at radio.  No matter what you might think of the “nipple-gate,” controversy, Janet is a bona fide superstar worthy of her inclusion in the Diva Hall of Fame.

This set was originally posted on November 17, 2009.  Since there are no current plans to update Miss Jackson’s original induction, I  thought it was appropriate to go back and revisit her original induction into the Diva Hall of Fame for those fans that missed it the first time around.

Album : Janet Jackson v1
Genre : Club, House
Year : 2009
Total Time : 1:43:12.00

1. Control (Acapella)

2. Miss You Much (Shep’s House Mix)

3. If (Brothers In Rhythm House Mix)

4. Love Will Never Do (Without You) (U.K. Funky Mix)

5. Runaway (Junior’s Factory Mix)

6. When I Think Of You (Morales House Mix)

7. Got ‘Til It’s Gone (Def Club Mix)

8. Go Deep (Masters At Work Alternative Mix)

9. You Want This (Disco Theory – No Rap)

10. Black Cat (3 Snaps Up 12′’)

11. Rhythm Nation (House Nation Mix)

12. Escapade (Shep’s Housecapade Mix)

13. Doesn’t Really Matter (Jonathan Peters Soundfactory Club Mix)

14. I Want You (Dr. Octavo Funk’n’Stein Club Mix)

15. Because of Love (Frankie & David Classic 12′’)

16. Together Again (Tony Humphries Club Mix)

17. Alright (12′’ House Mix)

18. Scream (Classic Club Mix)

19. I Get Lonely (Janet vs. Jason -The Club Remix)

20. The Pleasure Principle (Legendary Club Mix)

21. That’s The Way Love Goes (CJ FXTC Club Mix)

(Visited 30 times, 1 visits today)