Donna Summer [1948–2012] | The Diva Series

This is a re-boot of the original Donna Summer Tribute I put out last year and includes two new songs.

Not unlike Michael Jackson, Donna Summer reached the upper-echelon of her career and then was quickly struck down by controversy.  While each instance is significantly different with respect to the issue surrounding the heap of shit they found themselves in, they both showcase how ultimate fame can be quickly supplanted by ruination.

I’m not here to pass judgment on what she may or may have not said; rather focus on her career that had this gay boy dancing around his room night after night.

Donna Summer has worn the title of “Queen of Disco” for most of her career and rightfully so. With a slew of hits that topped the Disco charts and many more #1 and top tens on the pop charts, no single person has defined an era more than Donna Summer.

After the aforementioned “controversy” in the late eighties, her career was on a downward trajectory.  She focused her efforts by spreading her voice to other genres and other forms of music during the next couple of decades.

While she never reached the kind of peak she enjoyed in the late 70s and early 80s, she managed to rack up another 11 club hits that topped Billboard’s Club Play Chart.  No doubt, the love the gay community still had for her helped fuel this continued success.

Since her earliest work has been subject to countless compilations, I decided it fitting to focus this set on the latter half of her career with a couple of earlier bootlegged classics courtesy of Eddie Baez and DJ Meme.

Words cannot express the significance she played not only in my life but countless others.  From the kid that used to mow lawns to get enough money to buy your records, thank you for the music. You are sorely missed.

Album : Donna Summer [Re-boot] Genre : Circuit, House
Year : 2014
Total Time : 1:39:15.00

1. Melody Of Love [Wanna Be Loved] (Morales intro. Vasquez Club Mix)

2. Fame (The Game) (Ralphi Rosario Club Mix)

3. I Got Your Love (Rosario intro. Baez Vocal Anthem Mix)

4. The Power of One (Jonathan Peters Sound Factory Mix)

5. Love Is The Healer (Thunderpuss 2000 Club Mix)

6. Stamp Your Feet (DJ Escape & Collucio Club Mix)

7. I Will Go With You (Con Te Partiró) (Rosabel Main Vox Mixshow)

8. I'm A Fire (Craig C Burnin Club Mix)

9. To Paris With Love (Craig C's Master Blaster)

10. She Works Hard For The Money (Eddie Baez Remix)

11. Dream-A-Lot's Theme [I Will Live For Love] (Chris Cox 12'' Extended Remix)

12. MacArthur Park 2013 (Rosabel Mixshow)

13. Whenever There Is Love (Junior Vasquez Remix)

14. Carry On (Slammin' Cox Mix)

15. I Feel Love (DJ Memê Re-Edit Bootleg)

16. You're So Beautiful (Tony Moran Ultimate Club Mix)

17. Love On & On (Hex Hector & Mac Quayle 12'' Mix)

Keith a.k.a. K j A M

Party Favorz is a series of commercial and underground club mixes that I started making for friends in 1999. In 2007, at the urging of friends, I decided to move everything online and the Party Favorz blog was born. Whether you’re gay, straight, black, white, pink or purple, Party Favorz has no boundaries and everyone IS welcome here. Comments and suggestions are always appreciated; in fact, they are encouraged. Always remember that despite the name tag, Party Favorz DOES NOT promote nor endorse the use of illegal substances. Frankly, house music is the only drug your body needs to have a good time. LIVE, WORK, PLAY DANCE . . . just do it responsibly. Now on to the music! Keith a.k.a. K j A M