Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!
Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!

Donna Summer the Queen of Disco — The Casablanca Years Revisited

Donna Summer, the queen of Disco, a name synonymous with the divas of the music industry, has rightfully earned her place in the prestigious Diva Hall of Fame. Alongside icons like Diana Ross, Cher, and Madonna, Donna Summer’s legacy as the Queen of Disco is undisputed.

With the recent release of the Neil Bogart biopic “Spinning Gold,” which chronicles the illustrious career of this visionary pop music hitmaker, who also happened to be the head of one of the most successful music labels capitalizing on the Disco trend of the 1970s, and the upcoming HBO documentary titled “Love To Love You,” which features never-before-seen photographs and video footage shot by Miss Summer herself and has extensive involvement from her daughter Brooklyn Sudano, Party Favorz, felt it was finally time to pay tribute to the most important part of Donna Summer’s career and her timeless songs that earned her the title “Queen of Disco.”

Previous tribute sets to Donna Summer by Party Favorz featured the original versions of her songs. However, due to the nature of the way songs were created in the past, with live orchestras and bands, the tempos were not always conducive to modern DJ mixing. This was evident in her retrospective album “On The Radio” released in 1980, where the label released a mixed version of the songs in an edited format, using synthesized effects in between songs to create the illusion of a mix. Party Favorz, took on the challenge of editing the original versions into a continuous mix that utilized more of the lengthy originals, staying true to the original sound of Donna Summer’s music, and the result was fantastic.

This revisited series of Donna Summer’s music also delves into her often-overlooked repertoire from the 1980s, a mixed bag of hits and misses. However, when Donna Summer nailed it, she did so with great fanfare, and Party Favorz wanted to showcase these gems, allowing listeners to experience more of her songs as they were originally released for the dance floor. With some dramatic tempo changes in the songs, Party Favorz got creative in finalizing the track order to ensure a seamless listening experience for Donna Summer’s devoted fans, who are sure to be pleased with the final product.

Donna Summer’s career had a resurgence in the late 1990s, resulting in an entirely new era for her music. While Party Favorz has previously released what was thought to be the ultimate collection of this period, the continuous release of new modern-day remixes of her biggest hits has prompted a second volume, set to drop later this year, to capture this ongoing evolution of Donna Summer’s music.

It’s worth mentioning that Party Favorz relied heavily on Digital Visions edits for this set, as DJ Freddy, the mastermind behind Digital Visions, was instrumental in the creation of the Ultimate Trash Disco series and has contributed many never-before-released edits for Donna Summer’s music in this release. DJ Freddy is currently battling cancer and, as healthcare costs in the United States can be exorbitant, Party Favorz encourages fans to contribute to his GoFundMe page to help offset the costs of his treatment and show support for this esteemed DJ and music enthusiast.

Donna Summer’s indelible mark on the music industry as the Queen of Disco is undeniable, and this tribute to her iconic music is a testament to her enduring legacy. Her songs continue to captivate audiences around the world, and her influence on the music landscape will never fade.

Album: Queen of Disco | The Casablanca Years Revisited
Artists: Donna Summer
Genre: Disco
Length: 02:25:58

1. Love To Love You Baby (Barry Harris 2021 Remix)

2. Could It Be Magic (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

3. Try Me [I Know We Can Make It] (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

4. Spring Affair (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

5. Rumor Has It (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

6. I Love You (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

7. I Feel Love (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

8. With Your Love (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

9. Last Dance (Ultimix)

10. I Remember Yesterday (Frankie Knuckles Vocal Mix)

11. MacArthur Park (Barry Harris 2021 Club Mix)

12. Heaven Knows (John Morales M+M Mix) [with Brooklyn Dreams]

13. Hot Stuff (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

14. Bad Girls (Hot Tracks Mix)

15. Dim All The Lights (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

16. Sunset People (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

17. Our Love + Lucky (Razormaid Remix)

18. Lucky (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

19. No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) (Hot Tracks Remix) [with Barbra Streisand]

20. On The Radio (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

21. Love Is In Control (Finger On the Trigger) (Barry Harris 2022 Remix)

22. Love’s About To Change My Heart (Hot Tracks Remix)

23. This Time I Know It’s For Real (Digital Visions Re-Edit)

24. She Works Hard For The Money (Deejayovi Redrum)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Thanks for joining our party at Party Favorz! Your support helps keep the party alive. Want to chip in?