Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!
Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!

Ultra Naté: The Unstoppable Diva Who Redefined House Music

In the closing chapter of our Diva Series, we pay tribute to Ultra Naté, a true pioneer in the house music realm. Beginning her journey in the early ’90s with Warner Brothers, Ultra Naté initially had modest success on the dance charts. Despite her critically acclaimed albums “Blue Notes in the Basement” and “One Woman’s Insanity,” she couldn’t quite match the mainstream success of contemporaries like Crystal Waters and Robin S. It was her strategic move to the dance music powerhouse label, Strictly Rhythm, that catapulted her to fame.

Her third album, “Situation Critical,” was a game-changer. The lead single “Free” not only earned a gold certification in the UK but also became a massive hit worldwide. More importantly, it solidified its anthem status within the LGBTQ+ community. By the time her second single, “Found a Cure,” was released, Ultra Naté had ascended to true diva status, captivating a diverse and adoring fanbase.

In 1998, Ultra Naté joined forces with DJ Hex Hector and emerging artists Amber and Jocelyn Enriquez to rework the Gordon Lightfoot classic, “If You Could Read My Mind.” This modern take on a disco classic (originally a hit Viola Willis in 1980) for captivated audiences and even became a soundtrack staple for the movie “54,” further elevating her diva credentials.

The turn of the millennium saw the release of her album “Stranger Than Fiction,” featuring powerful singles like “Desire” and “Get It Up (The Feeling).” As the dance industry transitioned to a new era, dominated by superstar producers like Thunderpuss and Peter Rauhofer, Ultra Naté remained ahead of the curve. Her adaptability to changing trends became evident in her 2007 album, “Grime, Silk & Thunder,” which spawned multiple chart-toppers such as “Automatic” and “Give It All You Got.”

Fast forward to 2010, and Ultra Naté shows no signs of slowing down. New remixes of “Free” have been released by Strictly Rhythm, and she has collaborated with artists like Nicola Fasano and Quentin Harris. Her persistent evolution and enduring contributions to the dance community earn her nothing but respect and admiration.

Ultra Naté has left an indelible mark on the dance music landscape with her powerful voice and relentless tenacity. Her expansive body of work continues to move us, on and off the dance floor. For these reasons, Party Favorz is delighted to induct Ultra Naté into the Diva Hall of Fame. Be sure to check out her iconic video for “Automatic” after the jump.

Until the next time…ENJOY!

Album : The Diva Series
Artist : Ultra Naté
Genre : Classic House, Mainstream Club

Total Time : 1:51:28:00

1. Show Me (Original Extended Version)

2. Joy (Never Ending Joy Mix)

3. Pressure (Original Mix)

4. Desire (Kerri Chandler Underground Mix)

5. Love’s The Only Drug (Funky Junction & Antony Reale Subliminal Strings Mix)

6. Get It Up (The Feeling) (Full Intention Club Mix)

7. I Don’t Understand It (Dave Warrin Vocal Mix)

8. Freak On (Stonebridge Club Mix)

9. Free (Mood II Swing Extended Vocal Mix)

10. Stars on 54 [Ultra Naté, Amber & Jocelyn Enriquez] – If You Could Read My Mind (Hex Hector Club Mix)

11. Give It All You Got (Bimbo Jones Extended Mix)

12. Twisted (Craig C’s Master Vocal Mix)

13. Rejoicing (Backslide Remix)

14. Deeper Love (Missing You) (The Leftfield Vocal Mix)

15. Party Girl (Turn Me Loose) [Satoshi Tomiie Interruption]

16. Found A Cure (Full Intention Club Mix)

17. Automatic 2008 (Riff & Rays Mix)

18. How Long (Fire Island Remix)

19. New Kind Of Medicine (Original Extended Vocal Mix)

20. Brass In Pocket (C-Dock Style Mix)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Thanks for joining our party at Party Favorz! Your support helps keep the party alive. Want to chip in?