Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!
Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!

Almighty Records: The Definitive Dance Anthems Tribute

As Katherine Jenkins once belted out in her operatic splendor, “Who Wants To Live Forever?” Well, when it comes to the legacy of Almighty Records, the answer is clear: their remixes and productions are designed to stand the test of time, especially in the LGBTQ+ community. It’s not every day that a label can boast a catalog so imbued with enduring gay anthems and pulsating beats that lift us onto the dance floor.

Founded in the late 1980s, Almighty Records has crafted a legacy that resonates powerfully within dance music culture. They’ve been uniquely adept at straddling eras, blending classics from yesteryear with modern Hi-NRG vibes. This sonic time-travel is not just an art; it’s a homage to the soundtracks of our lives. And it’s why Almighty Records deserves a sprawling tribute—which we promise, is in the pipeline.

To kick off this miniature celebration, let’s delve into some songs that truly encapsulate what Almighty Records is all about. Take The Dream Girls’ “When Will I See You Again,” for instance. It’s a remake of the Three Degrees’ soul classic from the early ’70s. The track has been rejuvenated with buoyant beats that amplify its nostalgic charm without erasing its soulful roots.

Then there’s Kimberly Locke’s rendition of “Band of Gold,” originally s Soul hit by Freda Payne in 1970. This version retains the original’s emotive narrative while injecting it with a vivacious energy tailored for modern dance floors.

You’ve also got the undeniable Hi-NRG ’80s classic “So Many Men, So Little Time” by Miquel Brown. The song retains its essence, but Almighty’s treatment elevates it into a frenetic anthem that can still send a ripple of excitement through a crowded room of sweaty gay men.

The label’s versatility shines through in their update of Diana Ross’s “The Boss” and their original remix of Kylie Minogue’s “Your Disco Needs You”—two numbers that don’t just get the party started; they define it. Whether you’re a Diana devotee or part of Kylie’s Krew, these remixes serve as rallying cries for everyone to hit the dance floor.

Almighty Records even extends its magic touch to icons like the Pet Shop Boys with “New York City Boy,” magnifying the song’s narrative of youthful exploration and urban enchantment with an inescapable beat.

Speaking of inescapable, who could forget Martha Wash’s “It’s Raining Men”? While we miss the late Izora Armstead her partner in the Weather Girls, this reimagined Disco classic captures the original’s effervescence, giving us all permission to dance like no one’s watching.

And let’s not forget Jennifer Holliday’s iconic “And I’m Telling You I’m Not Going,” with freshly resung vocals. Almighty Records takes us on a voyage back to the days of “Dreamgirls” while reminding us that some divas, and some anthems, are simply irreplaceable.

Last but not least, Cher’s “Believe,” receives the Almighty treatment, retaining all the magic that made it one of the most significant gay anthems ever. In essence, it’s a track that doesn’t just make you believe in life after love, but also in the timeless power of dance music.

In the end, this condensed tribute is just a primer. Almighty Records has decades of history that have shaped the soundtracks of many a Pride event and club night. Keep your eyes peeled for a more proper tribute to this musical powerhouse. Because, like the anthems they’ve immortalized, Almighty Records isn’t going anywhere.

Until the next time…ENJOY!

Album : Almighty Definitive Anthems
Genre : NRG, Disco, House
Year : 2013
Total Time : 1:38:01

1. The Dream Girls – When Will I See You Again (Anthem Mix)

2. Kimberly Locke – Band Of Gold (12′” Anthem Club Mix)

3. Deborah Harry – I Want That Man (Almighty Mix)

4. Miquel Brown – So Many Men, So Little Time (Definitive Mix)

5. Katherine Jenkins – Who Wants To Live Forever (Club Mix)

6. Diana Ross – The Boss (12″ Essential Mix)

7. Yaz & The Plastic Population – The Only Way Is Up (Definitive Mix)

8. Kylie Minogue – Your Disco Needs You (Almighty Mix)

9. Pet Shop Boys – New York City Boy (The Definitive Mix)

10. Indigo – Use It Up & Wear It Out (12″ Anthem Mix)

11. Hannah Jones – Young Hearts Run Free (Mix)

12. Thelma Houston – Don’t Leave Me This Way (Mix)

13. Hazell Dean – Searchin’ (12″ Anthem Mix)

14. Martha Wash – It’s Raining Men (Definitive Mix)

15. Jennifer Holliday – And I’m Telling You I’m Not Going (Definitive Mix)

16. Cher – Believe (Definitive Mix)

17. Mary Griffin – Perfect Moment (Extended Mix)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Thanks for joining our party at Party Favorz! Your support helps keep the party alive. Want to chip in?