Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!
Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!

Thunderpuss Dance Music Tribute Volume 2

We’re back with another sensational volume of the Thunderpuss Dance Music Tribute, brought to you exclusively by Party Favorz. If you thought Volume 1 was a dance floor burner, then hold onto your glow sticks because Volume 2 will transport you to another level of auditory bliss. This compilation showcases the sheer mastery that Thunderpuss—the dynamic duo of Barry Harris and Chris Cox—brought to the world of dance music.

Let’s kick things off with Abigail’s “Let The Joy Rise.” The genius of Thunderpuss lies not just in their ability to create beats but also in their knack for elevating a song’s emotional core. They weave a magnetic tapestry of sound that transforms Abigail’s classic into a euphoric anthem.

And speaking of anthems, who can forget Janet Jackson’s “All For You“? The Thunderpuss treatment of this banger makes it near-impossible to stay seated. With its thumping bass and nuanced touches, it’s a quintessential example of their artistry, making us all long for the dance floor.

Shifting the vibe, we delve into the synth-laden territory of Pet Shop Boys’ iconic track, “New York City Boy.” Thunderpuss takes this already magnetic tune and catapults it into the stratosphere of gay anthems. Imagine this: you’re in a packed club, and the mid-section of the song hits. Suddenly, a men’s chorus starts belting out “vodka” in a rhythmic chant, and the room erupts into a euphoric frenzy. It’s not just a night in New York City; it’s a night that defines what it means to be fabulous. This remix captures the essence of liberation and celebration, resonating from the towering skyscrapers to the pulsing heart of the LGBTQ+ community. It’s sophisticated, it’s glamorous, and above all, it’s a dance floor essential.

For those who love their dance tracks infused with a tinge of melodrama, Amber’s “Above The Clouds” and Lara Fabian’s “I Will Love Again” hit the spot. Thunderpuss elevates both songs into celestial experiences. The remixes are like a double shot of adrenaline to the heart, lifting you above any turmoil and into a state of bliss.

When it comes to floor-filling remixes of “Stranger In My House” by Tamia, both HQ2 and Thunderpuss delivered versions that never failed to ignite the dance floor. Hex Hector and Mac Quayle’s take is a pulsating mix that turns the introspective original into a seismic anthem, while Thunderpuss injects a relentless energy that keeps revelers entranced. The incredible thing is that despite their different stylistic approaches, both remixes serve as potent catalysts for dance floor euphoria. You could be in the same club and hear both versions in one night, each eliciting its own unique yet equally electrifying reaction from the crowd.

Switching gears to Mary J. Blige’s “No More Drama,” this track was transformed into a monumental gay anthem by Thunderpuss. It begins with a sample from the Young & the Restless theme song in its extended intro, setting the stage for what’s about to unfold. Slowly but surely, it builds into a colossal wall of tribal beats that serve as the perfect backdrop for Mary J. Blige’s soaring vocals. This isn’t just a song; it’s an emotional journey. It resonates deeply with those in the LGBTQ+ community who are struggling with addiction, as it tackles the arduous but necessary path from a life of chaos to one of sobriety and improved living.

Whether it’s “Stranger In My House” or “No More Drama,” Thunderpuss had a knack for turning already impactful songs into unforgettable, life-affirming dance anthems. Both tracks epitomize the transformative power of music, especially for communities that see themselves reflected in the lyrics and feel their spirits lifted by the beats.

Last but not least, we have Whitney Houston’s “Try It On My Own.” The Thunderpuss mix transforms this ballad into an empowering dance floor hit that resonates with anyone who’s ever struggled to find their place in the world. It’s a testament to Thunderpuss’ range and depth as artists that they could bring such a poignant story to life in a whole new way.

This second volume of Thunderpuss Dance Music Tribute is a musical tour de force, demonstrating yet again why Barry Harris and Chris Cox were one of the most influential production teams in dance music history. It’s more than a collection of songs; it’s a curated experience that’ll have you pressing replay long after the last beat has faded.

Until the next time…ENJOY!

Album : Thunderpuss Tribute Volume 2
Genre : Circuit, Tribal, Progressive
Year : 2014
Total Time : 01:56:51

1. Janet Jackson – All For You (Thunderpuss Military Mix)

2. Billie Myers – Kiss The Rain (Thunderpuss Club Mix)

3. Abigail – Let The Joy Rise (Thunderpuss 2000 Club Mix)

4. Christina Aguilera – What A Girl Wants (Thunderpuss Dirty Club Remix)

5. Donna Summer – Love Is The Healer (Thunderpuss 2000 Club Mix)

6. GTS feat. Loleatta Holloway – Share My Joy (Thunderpuss Club Mix)

7. Pet Shop Boys – New York City Boy (The Thunderpuss 2000 Club Mix)

8. Amber – Above The Clouds (Thunderpuss 2000 Club Anthem)

9. Eurythmics – 17 Again (Thunderpuss Vocal Club Mix)

10. Lara Fabian – I Will Love Again (Thunderpuss Club Mix)

11. Tamia – Stranger In My House (Thunderpuss Club Mix)

12. Jennifer Holiday – Think It Over (Thunderpuss 2000 Club Mix)

13. Thunderpuss feat. Latanza Waters – Stand Up (Thunderpuss Club Mix)

14. Enrique Iglesias – Be With You (Thunderpuss Club Mix)

15. Whitney Houston – Try It On My Own (Thunderpuss Club Anthem Mixshow)

16. Mary J. Blige – No More Drama (Thunderpuss Remix)

(Visited 1 times, 2 visits today)

Thanks for joining our party at Party Favorz! Your support helps keep the party alive. Want to chip in?