Chaka Khan | The Diva Series

The Diva Series Chaka KhanWhen I was working on the third volume of the Year-End Edition 1997 , my memory was jogged about one of the divas on my list that I had not gotten around to inducting.  Yes, there is a short list of ladies (Patti Labelle, Aretha Franklin, etc.) that totally must be included in the Diva Hall of Fame but due to the complexities in putting their tributes together, I haven’t taken a stab at it yet.  Chaka Khan was one such person.

As I listened to the awesomeness of Chaka’s #1 club-dance hit Never Miss The Water with Me’Shell Ndegéocello, I knew it was time to get to work.

Miss Khan’s career spans over four decades, starting as lead vocalist for the R&B Funk outfit Rufus.  They generated several top 40 and #1 R&B hits like the Stevie Wonder penned Tell Me Something Good, Sweet Love (later covered by Mary J. Blige and a personal favorite), At Midnight (My Love Will Lift You Up) and Do You Love What You Feel.

By 1978, Chaka (in true diva fashion) had rocky relationships with many members of Rufus and signed a solo deal with Warner Brothers.  Her debut album included the top twenty song I’m Every Woman (later covered by Whitney Houston).  From there, she released multiple albums with mild success but in 1983 joined forces with Rufus one more time for the album Stompin’ at the Savoy –  Live, that included the studio track Ain’t Nobody.  That song was Rufus’ final top twenty hit and has been a staple in Chaka’s repertoire ever since.

The following year, she released the album I Feel For You.  The title track penned by Prince, enjoyed massive global success fueling the album’s platinum status.

In 1986, she joined forces with Steve Winwood for his massive comeback on the single Higher Love.

Chaka Khan continues to release new material and performs regularly.  Her voice, beauty and skills have earned her massive success as well as well-deserved critical acclaim.  It’s for these reasons and more that Party Favorz is honored to induct the fabulous Chaka Khan into the Diva Hall of Fame. XO

Album : The Diva Series starring Chaka Khan
Genre : House
Year : 2015
Total Time : 01:05:48
  1. Ain’t Nobody (DANK Remix) [with Rufus]

  2. Never Miss The Water (Franktified Club Mix) [feat. Me’Shell Ndegéocello]

  3. I Feel For You (80’s Child Legend Edit)

  4. I Know You, I Live You (Funk N’ Hustle Bootleg Remix)

  5. It’s Not Over (Joe Smooth Club Mix) [feat. LeCrae]

  6. Any Love (Sanny X Club Mix 2014) [with Rufus]

  7. Angel (Mr. Mig Extended Remix)

  8. Disrespectful (Riffs & Rays Club Mix) [with Mary J. Blige]

  9. Ain’t Nobody (Down N’ Dirty 2011 House Edit) [with Rufus]

  10. I’m Every Woman (DJ Meme’s Knuckles Tribute Mix)

  11. Love You All My Lifetime (Garage Mix with Strings)

(Visited 52 times, 1 visits today)

Party Favorz is a labor of love and has been providing outstanding podcasts of your favorite dance music for 12 years now. Even so, it takes a lot of time, work, effort, and yes…money to make this all happen. If it wasn’t for my supporters, continuing to operate this podcast would be impossible.

Please consider donating to help support the continued output of the music that fuels your everyday life.

Thank you for your patronage!

Donate now