Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!
Get the party started with the best dance music podcast for 17 years!

Dead or Alive: An 80s Icon’s Legacy in Dance Music and Beyond — The Diva Series

Formed in Liverpool in 1980, Dead or Alive achieved their stride in the mid-1980s, gracing the UK Top 40 charts with seven singles and the Top 30 with three albums. Notably, they were the first act to score a number-one single under the legendary production team of Stock Aitken Waterman (SAW). At the height of their fame, the band’s lineup included Pete Burns on vocals, Mike Percy on bass, Steve Coy on drums, and Tim Lever on keyboards. Over their career, they released seven studio albums and five compilation albums.

Two of their singles even cracked the U.S. Top 20 on the Billboard Hot 100: “You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)” reached No. 11 in 1985, and “Brand New Lover” climbed to No. 15 in 1986. The iconic “You Spin Me Round” not only topped the UK charts for two weeks but also enjoyed renewed attention in 2003 and 2006 after Pete Burns appeared on the reality show Celebrity Big Brother.

As a Gen-Xer who grew up in the ’80s, I can confidently say that Dead or Alive was a cultural powerhouse. Besides their chart-topping singles, tracks like “Lover Come Back to Me,” “My Heart Goes Bang (Get Me a Doctor),” “Something in My House,” and “Come Home With Me Baby” were staples that filled dance floors during their heyday.

Under the guidance of Stock Aitken Waterman, Dead or Alive produced some of the most unforgettable Hi-NRG dance tracks of that era. Regrettably, the band’s charismatic lead singer, Pete Burns, passed away from cardiac arrest in 2016 at the age of 57.

Dead or Alive wasn’t just about music; their impact extended to promoting gender fluidity during an era known for its excess and big hair. The band’s influence on both dance music and social norms is immeasurable.

With immense respect and admiration, Party Favorz proudly inducts Dead or Alive into our Diva Hall of Fame, as well as into our Legacy Dance Tribute series.

Until the next time…ENJOY!

Album: Dead or Alive | The Diva Series
Genre: Dance, Hi-NRG
Year: 2018
Total Time: 01:04:51

1. Brand New Lover (Hot Tracks Mix)

2. You Spin Me ‘Round (Like a Record) (Razormaid Mix)

3. Come Home With Me Baby (Hot Tracks)

4. Hooked On Love (Razormaid Remix)

5. Stop Kicking My Heart Around (Razormaid Remix)

6. Something In My House (Razormaid Mix)

7. Misty Circles (Dance Mix)

8. It’s Been A Long Time (Razormaid Remix)

9. Lover Come Back To Me (Razormaid)

10. My Heart Goes Bang (Get Me to the Doctor) (12” US Wipe Out Mix)

11. Baby Don’t Say Goodbye (Extended Mix)

(Visited 2 times, 2 visits today)

Thanks for joining our party at Party Favorz! Your support helps keep the party alive. Want to chip in?